top of page

Slaton Area Endowment to Award Over $7,000 in Community Grants

The Slaton Area Endowment, an affiliate of the Community Foundation of West Texas, was created in 2013 to give the people of Slaton the opportunity to build a pool of permanent resources exclusively for the benefit of their community.

The Slaton Area Endowment (SAE) was created by and for the people of this area, and is an affiliate of the Community Foundation of West Texas. Today the endowment has over $250,000 and supports funds for 7 designated organizations. To date, the endowment has given 30 grants totaling $36,325.37 to area non-profits. Each year, as the endowment grows, the group is able to give back even more to the community. This year alone the Slaton Area Endowment will add to those numbers as they will give over $7,000 in grants supporting worthy organizations and causes in the area.

Due to generous endowments and donations, the SAE now has over $250,000 in our fund balance, 7 designated funds, and is pleased to award $7,225 during this grant cycle.

The Slaton Area Endowment is proud to announce the 2017 grant recipients:

  • City of Slaton Emergency Services-Santa Red & Blue

  • Mercy Manna-Food for the Needy

  • Slaton City Library-Literacy Café Reading Program

  • Slaton ISD-Emergency Preparedness

  • Slaton Railroad Heritage Association-Little Red Caboose

  • Slaton Senior Citizens Center-Meals on Wheels

  • Weekend Snack Sack Program-Weekend Snack Sack Program

When: Friday, October 13, 2017 during halftime of 7:30 p.m. homecoming game Slaton vs Muleshoe

Where: Tigers Stadium, halftime of game

If you would like to learn more about the Slaton Area Endowment, how to get involved, donate, or apply for a 2018 grant, please visit

Slaton Area Endowment

PO Box 91

Slaton, Texas 79364

Members of the Slaton Area Endowment Advisory Board are:

Mark Meurer, Chair

Jonathan Bloxom

Richard Edwards, Advisor

Kevin Buxkemper

David Ehler

Dubbin Englund

Billy Gonzales

David Gossett

Roger Kitten

Claricia Osuna

Wayne Schilling

Lynette Swanner

Shirley Tucker

Martha Turney

Sherrell Wilson

Ann Marie Wright

Save the Date! “Giving Tuesday” - Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page